The International Society of Skiing Safety was founded with the primary purpose of providing a forum for discussion and education concerning skiing safety. The Ski Trauma and Ski Safety Congresses have brought together a wide variety of participants interested in all aspects of skiing safety. These meetings mainly aimed at providing a space for the presentation of a multitude of subjects concerning snow sports, including means to reduce the risk and treat injuries. Initially, the prime subjects of interest revolved around snow skiing including alpine skiing and many variations of cross-country skiing. In recent years the interest of the Society has widened considerably with the development of other sports such as snowboarding, freestyle skiing, alpine touring, and other hybrid activities.


Attendees of the symposia on skiing trauma and safety have included:

  • Medical doctors that work with snow sport injuries

  • Representatives of the skiing industry (such as binding, boot, and ski manufacturers)

  • Engineers from industry, universities, and technical institutions

  • Skiing professionals such as ski instructors and patrolmen

  • Lawyers

  • Ski area managers

  • Participants in recreational and professional skiing and riding activities


Interchange of ideas, comments, and critiques are encouraged in formal discussion of the papers. Many of the people who attend these meetings are involved in ASTM International and International Organization for Standardization (ISO) standards processes. Every interest person is warmly encouraged to participate!



  • 1974: Riksgränsen, SWEDEN

  • 1977: Sierra Nevada of Spain, SPAIN

  • 1979: Queenstown, NEW ZEALAND

  • 1981: Bormio, ITALY

  • 1983: Keystone, Colorado, USA

  • 1985: Naeba, JAPAN

  • 1987: Chamonix, FRANCE

  • 1989: Riksgränsen, SWEDEN

  • 1991: Threbdo, AUSTRALIA

  • 1993: Zellam Zee, AUSTRIA

  • 1995: Voss, NORWAY

  • 1997: Whistler/Blackcomb, CANADA

  • 1999: Breuil Cervinia, ITALY

  • 2001: Queenstown, NEW ZEALAND

  • 2003: St. Moritz/Pontresina, SWITZERLAND

  • 2005: Arai, Niigata, JAPAN

  • 2007: Aviemore, SCOTLAND

  • 2009: Garmisch-Partenkirchen, GERMANY

  • 2011: Keystone, Colorado, USA

  • 2013: San Carlos de Bariloche, ARGENTINA

  • 2015: Cortina-San Vito di Cadore, ITALY
  • 2017: Innsbruck, AUSTRIA

  • 2021: Serre-Chevalier Valley, FRANCE